Figures, please: Bad boy Frijns, point-hoarder Di Resta | DTM
2018-11-12 21:30:00

Figures, please: Bad boy Frijns, point-hoarder Di Resta

Figures, please: Bad boy Frijns, point-hoarder Di Resta

The 2018 DTM season in figures: each of the 20 races held at nine circuits in six countries (Germany, Austria, the Netherlands, Italy, Hungary and the UK) made for its individual chapter of history. The drivers representing the Audi, BMW and Mercedes-AMG colours established numerous records and impressed with top performances. compiled the most interesting statistics in three chapters. This time we deal – inter alia – with the bad boys, team spirit and the drivers that were outpaced.

Consistency pays off – and this also applies to DTM. The driver who scored on the most consistent level was Paul Di Resta who scored in 17 of the 20 races. Second position in this ranking was secured by Gary Paffett who added points to his tally 16 times. Behind the champion, Timo Glock and René Rast (both 14 top-10 results) were tied for third position. And Marco Wittmann as well as Pascal Wehrlein (both 13) for fifth. Rookie Philipp Eng clinched 12 top-10 results, with Edoardo Mortara, Nico Müller and Mike Rockenfeller scoring 11 times. Bruno Spengler, Augusto Farfus, Robin Frijns and Lucas Auer made it tom the points in 50 percents of the races, with the latter finishing seventh in the championship, nevertheless. Although only four drivers did even worse, in this area: Joel Eriksson (9), Loïc Duval (8), Daniel Juncadella (6) and Jamie Green (5).

16 of 18. That’s the number of drivers that were involved in at least one presentation ceremony, this year. The biggest number of podiums (10) was secured Gary Paffett. René Rast (9), Paul Di Resta and Marco Wittmann (both 6) also made numerous appearances on the podium. The next positions in this statistics were secured by Timo Glock and Edoardo Mortara (both 5), Lucas Auer (4) and Nico Müller (3). Mike Rockenfeller, Philipp Eng, Robin Frijns and Daniel Juncadella all made it to the podium twice while Augusto Farfus, Bruno Spengler, Pascal Wehrlein and Joel Eriksson clinched one podium each, this year. Only two drivers, Loïc Duval and Jamie Green, had to cope with being winner-ceremony spectators throughout the season.

Mercedes AMG- succeeded in winning the manufacturers’ title early – in the penultimate race meeting, at Spielberg. In the end, the Stuttgarters (903 points) won the title with a 280-point lead over BMW (623). With Audi (599) following another 24 points behind in third position. Courtesy first of all by René Rast who celebrated six consecutive race wins, Audi impressed with a stunning comeback by scoring 420 points in the last eight races of the season. In this period of time, Mercedes-AMG (293) and BMW (235) scored clearly less points. Nonetheless, the Stuttgarters scored the triple, consisting of the drivers’ manufacturers’ and team championships. Over the course of the season, Mercedes-AMG secured nine race wins, set 14 poles as well as 12 fastest race laps and clinched a total of 28 of the 60 podiums available, thus being the most successful brand in each of these four areas. From the season opener at Hockenheim to the first of the night races in the history of DTM, at Misano, nine consecutive poles were secured by the Mercedes-AMG C 63 DTM – a new DTM record.

Meanwhile, a rookie had to cope with the biggest number of bookings. Altogether, Robin Frijns was booked for five offenses, resulting in two grid penalties. According to the regulations, a driver will be penalised for three bookings with a three-position grid penalty and following his fifth offenses he even will be demoted by 10 positions on the grid for the following race. Pascal Wehrlein, Timo Glock and Philipp Eng received four bookings, Edoardo Mortara one grid penalty for three. At the same time, Paul Di Resta, Daniel Juncadella and Jamie Green (two bookings each) as well as René Rast, Lucas Auer, Mike Rockenfeller, Augusto Farfus, Nico Müller, Joel Eriksson and Marco Wittmann (all one) got off lightly. And three drivers, 2018 DTM-Champion Gary Paffett, Bruno Spengler and Loïc Duval, kept a clean record throughout the season.

No driver loves to start into a trace from the very end of the field. Last position on the grid was a fate Bruno Spengler had to cope with five times, last year. An unpleasant experience the BMW driver shared with 10 other drivers. Rookie Robin Frijns and Edorado Mortara both had to settle for this position three times, Loïc Duval twice. While Jamie Green, Mike Rockenfeller, René Rast, Philipp Eng, Pascal Wehrlein, Daniel Juncadella and Marco Wittmann were last on the grid once. But it wasn’t always the pace that was the reason why a driver had to start into a race from the last position on the grid. Wittmann, for instance, had to do so in the season finale at Hockenheim as he crashed into the crash barriers in the ‘Sachs-Kurve’, in the qualifying session. Repairing the damages quickly wasn’t possible and so, the BMW had to settle for being left behind.

DTM Reglement

Be there

A visit to the DTM is a must

You've never been to the DTM? We show you why a visit to the DTM is a must.


Experience the DTM

Pure action and first class entertainment: moving pictures about the DTM.

View more