Figures please: Frijns the best when it came to charging through the field | DTM
2018-11-02 08:00:00

Figures please: Frijns the best when it came to charging through the field

Figures please: Frijns the best when it came to charging through the field

Each of the 20 races held at nine circuits in six countries (Germany, Austria, the Netherlands, the UK, Italy and Hungary) wrote its individual history. The drivers representing the Audi, BMW and Mercedes-AMG colours established numerous records and impressed with top performances. compiled the most interesting statistics in three chapters. This time we deal – inter alia – with unlucky fellows, champions and speeders.

The biggest number of positions compared to his grid positions was gained by a rookie. After the qualifying sessions, Audi-Pilot Robin Frijns gained impressive 50 positions in the races. Fellow Audi drivers Loïc Duval (37 positions) and Mike Rockenfeller (31) also convinced in this area. Meanwhile, Lucas Auer’s record was really poor. The Mercedes-AMG-Pilot lost shocking 86 positions. Fellow Mercedes-AMG driver also usually dropped back – despite several successes. The Spaniard lost 46 positions. Compared to the Mercedes-AMG pairing, the third-worst driver, BMW’s Augusto Farfus (28 positions), did rather well. 

Lucas Auer also proved to be the best in another ranking. In six races, the Austrian wasn’t ranked. Four times he was forced into early retirement and in the other two he was disqualified. Augusto Farfus and Loïc Duval both had to cope with three retirements. On the other hand, Paul Di Resta, Philipp Eng, Joel Eriksson, Timo Glock, Daniel Juncadella, Mike Rockenfeller, Marco Wittmann and Pascal Wehrlein made it to the finish line in all the 20 races. However, Mercedes-AMG drivers Wehrlein and Auer failed to appear for the weighing and consequently were disqualified.

Fastest pit stop: Audi Sport Team Phoenix once again proved to be invincible when it came to the pit stops. Over the course of the season, the crew of Mike Rockenfeller executed the fastest stops on average and once again secured Hankook’s Best Pit Stop Award’, thus defending the title they already won in 2017. On every weekend, the points are awarded according to the DTM scoring system – for the faster of the two stops in the two races. Second and third positions were secured by BMW Team RBM around the drivers Joel Eriksson and Bruno Spengler. Mike Rockenfeller, 2013 DTM Champion: “A great achievement of our team. At the end of the day, practicing just pays off. The contribution a driver can make to a fast stop is limited: the only thing you have to do is to quickly come in and quickly rejoin the race. While a fast crew always makes you feel good.” 

The biggest number of fastest race laps (four each) was set by the Mercedes-AMG drivers Gary Paffett und Daniel Juncadella. Altogether, 12 drivers set at least one fastest race lap.  Marco Wittmann and Lucas Auer did so twice while Jamie Green, Mike Rockenfeller, Paul Di Resta, Augusto Farfus, Edoardo Mortara, René Rast, Timo Glock und Robin Frijns clocked the fastest race lap once. The fastest race lap of the season was set by Austria’s Auer on the Saturday of his home meeting. On lap 28, ‘Luggi’ ´crossed the line of the Red Bull Ring in 1:24.493 minutes, representing an average speed of 183.977kph.

The 2018 DTM grid featured seven DTM Champions. And their experience paid off. In the end, four of the seven drivers, Gary Paffett, René Rast, Paul Di Resta and Marco Wittmann, secured the top position in the championship. DTM returnee Pascal Wehrlein, the 2015 champion, didn’t meet his expectations and finished eighth. And Mike Rockenfeller (Champion in 2013) as well as Bruno Spengler (2012) finished 11th and 12th, thus failing to secure top-10 positions.

DTM Reglement

Be there

A visit to the DTM is a must

You've never been to the DTM? We show you why a visit to the DTM is a must.


Experience the DTM

Pure action and first class entertainment: moving pictures about the DTM.

View more