Waiting for the win | DTM.com | The official website
2017-11-30 17:00:00

Waiting for the win

Waiting for the win

It was a spectacular, eventful season, with DTM delivering to the max. The races were thrilling and the racing was close as the field proved to be extremely well-balanced. Consequently, nuances turned out to be crucial in the fight for the wins. DTM.com took a close look at what happened during the course of the season and will present interesting figures in a multi-chapter series. Part one unveils which driver on the grid has been waiting for a win for the longest time. Our calculation period ends on 15th October, 2017.

When it comes to race wins of the still active drivers he is the No 2 behind Mattias Ekström (23): since he made his DTM debut, in 2003, Gary Paffett made it to the top step in 20 races. Nonetheless, the 36-year old has been waiting for a win longer than any other driver on the DTM grid. The Mercedes-AMG ace claimed his last win to date on 16th June at the Lausitzring. This means that the Briton had to cope with a dry spell of 70 races and 1,582 days respectively. Nonetheless, Paffett impressed with amazing consistency, In the 2017 season: he made it to the podium just once, by finishing runner-up in the second round of the season kick-off at Hockenheim, but made it to the top 10 in 14 of the 18 races of the season. For comparison: champion René Rast scored in only 12 races.

The longest time waiting

The dry spell of Augusto Farfus is just slightly shorter. The Brazilian waits for a triumph since 65 races and 1,477 days respectively as he celebrated his last win on 29th September 2013, at Zandvoort. The 34-year old looks back on a disappointing season. Sixth place in the first race of the Zandvoort meeting and the pole for the second were the season highlights for Farfus who finished 16th in the championship.

Third position in this ranking is held by another BW driver: Although being just 23 years old, the Briton’s dry spell extends to 40 races and 768 days respectively. On 13th September 2015, in his first DTM season, Blomqvist won at Oschersleben. This year he wasn’t able to add another win to his tally but made for two highlights by securing two poles.

Waiting for victory >10 races

Meanwhile, Nico Müller (Audi/28), Edoardo Mortara (Mercedes-AMG/18), Loïc Duval (Audi/18), Paul Di Resta (Mercedes-AMG/12), Bruno Spengler (BMW/11) and Maxime Martin (BMW/10) have been waiting for a win for more than 10 races. And the wait of the dethroned champion, Marco Wittmann, lasted 22 races but then, the BMW driver crossed the finish line of the final race of the season, at Hockenheim, as winner.

Get your 2019 tickets now

Calendar 2019

Calendar 2019

2019 DTM calendar with new circuits and new support

All races at a glance

All races at a glance

Be there

A visit to the DTM is a must

You've never been to the DTM? We show you why a visit to the DTM is a must.


Experience the DTM